Category: Residential Landmark/Farmstead
Location: Wood Street, California
The two-and-a half-story brick house was built in 1903 by Jonathan Winnett Jennings. It is nearly square with a three-bay facade and cross gable hip roof. It is a blend of Colonial Revival with Queen Anne features. The center front door has a transom and sidelights with wood panels at their bases and consist of leaded, beveled and stained glass. A full length porch is supported by simple wood columns resting on square brick piers, two of which are engraved with "1903" and "Jennings." This house is one of a dwindling number of intact and unaltered homes built during this period in this college town. Rev. Jennings was a minister with the Methodist Episcopal Church who served for 43 years as an active pastor. In 1930 the house was sold to Charles Gallagher, an industrial superintendent, who served on borough council for 20 years and was a trustee at California University. Finally the house was donated by the Gallagher family to California Historical Society.